Speedway: Lakeside Hammers Australian World Cup star Nick Morris crowned champion of Rico Spring Clasic

PUBLISHED: 09:13 24 March 2018 | UPDATED: 09:13 24 March 2018

Lakeside Hammers Nick Morris poses for the camera (Pic: Phil Ranson)

Lakeside Hammers Nick Morris poses for the camera (Pic: Phil Ranson)


Lakeside Hammers marquee signing Nick Morris got off to a dream start as he was crowned champion of the Rico Spring Classic.

The Australian World Cup star showed the Hammers fans exactly what he is about in the first meeting of the campaign as he beat off competition from 11 other riders to seal the top prize.

Morris beat his new team-mates Adam Ellis, Richard Lawson and Kyle Newman in the final, after they all finished on the highest points tallies on the night.

The 23-year-old got the racing underway as he cruised to victory against Ben Morley, British World Cup star Steve Worrall and Jason Garrity in the first heat.

Youngster Alfie Bowtell got off the start well in the second heat but was pushed out by the race winner Lawson and runner-up Zach Wajtknecht before also eventually being over taken by American Gino Manzares.

The third heat was neck and neck after the first bend between Ellis and Rye House Rockets racer Edward Kennett.

Ellis found his way up the inside and roared his way to victory while Kennett was passed by Newman and Max Clegg to finish last.

Manzares won heat four before Newman came out trumps in the fifth race of the night.

In heat six Kennett redeemed himself from his first outing as he flew out the gate and pulled away from Ellis, Garrity and Manzares for the win.

Morris missed the two minute time allowance and had to start 15 metres back in heat seven but he still managed to catch Newman to finish third behind Worrall and winner Lawson.

Fan favourite Morley picked up his only race win of the night in heat eight before Ellis resumed his fine form in heat nine with his second win of the night.

In the next race Garrity raced clear at the start while Bowtell was going well in second before falling off the bike allowing Newman and Clegg to steal second and third.

21-year-old Ellis picked up yet another victory in heat 11 before Morris went out and went round Bowtell, who eventually fell off, to seal the three points in heat 12.

Belle-Vue Aces man Worrall made it to the first bend in front and held onto the lead in heat 13 before Garrity battled hard to beat Kennett in heat 14 after the pair were passing each other over and over before Kennett eventually ended up third with Lawson catching him on the last bend.

The final race of the night was won by Morris with Ellis finishing second – meaning the final was between Ellis, Morris, Lawson and Newman.

It ended as expected Morris flew out the gate, Ellis in second, Lawson third and Newman trailed behind at the back.

Scores: Adam Ellis 13, Nick Morris 12, Richard Lawson 11, Kyle Newman 9, Zach Wajtknecht 9, Jason Garrity 8, Steve Worrall 7, Ben Morley 7, Edward Kennett 6, Gino Manzares 4, Max Clegg 4, Alfie Bowtell 0.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Romford Recorder. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Romford Recorder