Search

Ryman League fixtures: September will be tough says Romford boss Martin

PUBLISHED: 13:28 18 July 2014 | UPDATED: 14:07 18 July 2014

Romford boss Paul Martin. Pic: Gavin Ellis/TGSPHOTO

Romford boss Paul Martin. Pic: Gavin Ellis/TGSPHOTO

Gavin Ellis/TGSPHOTO c/o 27 Plaiters Way, Braintree, Essex, CM7 3LR - Editorial Use ONLY - FA Premier League and Football League

While Romford boss Paul Martin was generally pleased with how the Ryman League fixtures have beenworked out for his side, he feels September could be a big month for every side.

The schedule was released yesterday (Thursday) and sees Boro open up against Burnham Ramblers on August 9.

And though the League’s computer has not thrown up too many ‘bad’ ones in Martin’s eyes, he did question the nine games scheduled for September, and that’s not taking into consideration the FA Cup.

“I sat down and had a look at them and they aren’t too bad if I am honest, there’s not many bad fixtures in there,” said Martin.

“But I’ve looked at September and there are nine games. That could be tough for some of the sides which don’t have big squads.

“If you pick up any early injuries that could prove to be a big month.”

■ Meanwhile, Boro got their pre-season friendlies up and running with a 3-0 win over Eton Manor on Wednesday night at Newbury Park.

Jack Barry, Abs Seymour and Ryan Imbert were all on target for Romford, and while pleased with the result, Martin is more concerned about his squad getting used to formations and tactics.

“It was nice for the boys to blow out a few cobwebs and you still take the clean sheet and three goals as positives,” said Martin.

“But at the end of the day it’s all about making sure the players get minutes under their belts, and start to learn the formations that we want to be playing this season.”

Next up for Boro is a home game against Saffron Walden Town, also at Ship Lane tomorrow, and it’s a game which will see Martin use the whole of his finalised 20-man squad.

“I’ve got 18 of the 20 signed up, but I’ll have made my mind on the other two by Saturday.”

Romford Ryman Division 1 North (Home fixtures in bold)
Sat Aug 9: BURNHAM RAMBLERS

Tue Aug 12: Harlow Town

Sat Aug 16: Waltham Abbey

Wed Aug 20: DEREHAM TOWN

Sat Aug 23: Maldon & Tiptree

Mon Aug 25: GREAT WAKERING

Tue Sep 2: Brightlingsea Regent

Sat Sep 6: TILBURY

Wed Sep 10: REDBRIDGE

Sat Sep 13: Soham Town Rangers

Tue Sep 16: Chatham Town

Sat Sep 20: AVELEY

Wed Sep 24: CRAY WANDERERS

Sat Sep 27: Heybridge Swifts

Sat Sep 29: Barkingside

Sat Oct 4: NEEDHAM MARKET

Sat Oct 11: Wroxham

Sat Oct 25: AFC SUDBURY

Sat Nov 1: Thamesmead Town

Sat Nov 8: Cheshunt

Sat Nov 15: Ware

Sat Nov 22: Burnham Ramblers

Sat Nov 29: HARLOW TOWN

Sat Dec 6: Dereham Town

Sat Dec 13: WALTHAM ABBEY

Sat Dec 20: Brentwood Town

Fri Dec 26: THURROCK

Thu Jan 1: Great Wakering

Sat Jan 3: MALDON & TIPTREE

Sat Jan 10: BRIGHTLINGSEA REGENT

Sat Jan 17: Tilbury

Sat Jan 24: Redbridge

Sat Jan 31: SOHAM TOWN RANGERS

Sat Feb 7: Needham Market

Sat Feb 14: BARKINGSIDE

Sat Feb 21: AFC Sudbury

Sat Feb 28: WROXHAM

Sat Mar 7: CHATHAM TOWN

Sat Mar 14: Aveley

Sat Mar 21: HEYBRIDGE SWIFTS

Sat Mar 28: Cray Wanderers

Sat Apr 4: BRENTWOOD TOWN

Mon Apr 6: Thurrock

Sat Mar 11: THAMESMEAD TOWN

Sat Mar 18: Cheshunt

Sat Mar 25: WARE


If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Romford Recorder. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Romford Recorder