SNEL Premier: Brentwood crowned champions as Wanstead lose at Hornchurch

PUBLISHED: 17:31 07 September 2019 | UPDATED: 18:59 07 September 2019

Aaron West of Brentwood celebrates with his team mates after taking a wicket at The Old County Ground (pic Gavin Ellis/TGS Photo)

Aaron West of Brentwood celebrates with his team mates after taking a wicket at The Old County Ground (pic Gavin Ellis/TGS Photo)

©TGS Photo +44 1376 553468

Brentwood clinched the Shepherd Neame Essex League Premier Division title with a convincing seven-wicket win over Chingford at the Old County Ground.

And nearest rivals Wanstead ended the season on a losing note at 2018 champions Hornchurch, whose last-wicket pair secured victory at Harrow Lodge Park.

Brentwood were sent into the field after Aaron West lost the toss, but saw Connor Limrick make the breakthrough with 28 runs on the board.

Charlie Griffiths got in on the act, before West (2-20) dismissed Essex batsman Dan Lawrence and Alfie Taylor to make it 65-4.

And the visitors collapsed to 92 all out in 42 overs as Griffiths (5-25) and Ian Belchamber (2-8) turned the screw.

Kieran Emmanuel (27) and Will Buttleman made starts in reply, but West fell cheaply before Jack Hebron (21 not out) and Tom Oakley (24 not out) sealed victory in the 26th over and the title winning party began.

Wanstead began the day 16 points behind the leaders and captain Joe Ellis-Grewal won the toss and chose to bat.

But after Tom Cummins (21) and Robin Das (40) put on 52 for their second wicket, they slipped to 154 all out in 46 overs.

Kishen Velani (21) and Zain Shahzad (24) made starts, as Gayan Sirisoma (6-47) and Jas Bassan (3-58) combined with the ball for Hornchurch.

You may also want to watch:

Ronnie Saunders hit 28 off 20 balls in reply, but the hosts slipped from 67-1 to 132-9 as Ellis-Grewal (4-42) and Bradley De Villiers (4-54) combined to good effect.

Jamie Sorrell fell for a top score of 44, but Bassan and last man Zeeshan Khan kept their nerve in an unbroken 25-run stand to seal victory for Hornchurch.

Billericay ended their campaign on a losing note against Belhus.

Captain Lee Knight (27) chose to bat and put on 74 with Nathan Khelawon, who made 66 before the hosts slipped to 139-6.

Rob Lee added 52 with Ross Poulton and hit nine fours in his 66 off 60 balls to help lift the total to 210-9 declared.

But Belhus openers Matt Doran (88 not out) and captain Joe Joycee (117 not out) shared an unbroken 213-run stand in reply to steer the visitors to a 10-wicket victory.

Already relegated Ilford saw Hadleigh pile up 274-4 at Valentines Park, thanks to Misem Ali Syed Zaidi's unbeaten 107 and half centuries from Antonio Greenidge (89) and Adam Soilleux (62).

Harsh Kumar took 3-21 from two overs, but Ilford lost a wicket before a run had been scored in reply and slipped to 78-5, as only Mohammad Ahktar (35) made a start in their top order.

Akhil Anil hit two sixes and five fours in his 37 off 21 balls, putting on 49 with Hamza Muhammad, and Kalpesh Chandracant (21) also made a start.

But the last three wickets fell for just two runs, with Muhammad the last man out after scoring 37 off 79 balls as Ilford were dismissed for 178.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Romford Recorder. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Romford Recorder