Cricket: Champions Hornchurch beaten by Billericay

PUBLISHED: 19:29 08 September 2018 | UPDATED: 19:29 08 September 2018

A Billericay batsman hits out (pic Gavin Ellis/TGS Photo)

A Billericay batsman hits out (pic Gavin Ellis/TGS Photo)

©TGS Photo +44 1376 553468

Darren Ironside hit a superb unbeaten 169 to see Billericay get the better of Shepherd Neame Essex League Premier Division champions Hornchurch on the final day of the 2018 season.

Hornchurch captain Billy Gordon chose to bat after winning the toss and saw Ronnie Saunders and Jamie Sorrell (33) make starts before falling to Andy Smith and Ross Poulton respectively.

Gordon (28) was dismissed by Ironside, with Zeeshan Khan (20) falling to Poulton (2-73), to leave the visitors 141-4.

But Michael Bones and Roy Smith shared an unbroken 151 for the fifth wicket, with Bones hitting 10 fours in his unbeaten 103 from 110 balls.

Smith struck a six and eight fours in his unbeaten 73 off 85 deliveries as Hornchurch closed on 292-4, before Gordon (2-42) and Mehad Khan reduced the hosts to 16-3.

Ironside held firm, but saw captain Lee Knight and David Hinnigan fall to Sam Shirzay (2-34) and Nick Van Lint dismissed by Marc Whitlock to leave Billericay 84-6.

Nathan Khelawon (31) put on 110 for the seventh wicket with Ironside, who then added an unbroken 99 with Poulton to secure a three-wicket win in the 58th over.

Ironside hit 23 fours in his 172-ball innings, with Poulton unbeaten on 57 from 40 balls, having hit two sixes and six fours in a notable cameo.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Romford Recorder

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists