Cricket: Billericay beaten by Chingford

PUBLISHED: 08:00 02 September 2018

A Billericay bowler in action (pic Gavin Ellis/TGS Photo)

A Billericay bowler in action (pic Gavin Ellis/TGS Photo)

©TGS Photo +44 1376 553468

Billericay slipped to a six-wicket defeat at Chingford in their penultimate match of the Shepherd Neame Essex League Premier Division season.

Having chosen to bat first, they saw openers Andy Smith (22) and Paul Martin make starts, only to fall to Essex staff Matt Quinn and Ben MacGregor, respectively.

The pair would combine for eight wickets in total, with MacGregor (3-51) also dismissing Darren Ironside and David Houghton (30).

Quinn celebrated his new extended contract with Essex by removing Nathan Khelawon (27), Nick Van Lint (31), Aaron Curtis and Billericay captain Lee Knight to finish with 5-63 from his 21 overs.

The visitors were dismissed for 182 in the 56th over but made Chingford work hard for their runs in reply.

Openers Alex Agedah (71) and Aryan Gupta (35) gave Chingford a solid platform, before Ross Poulton and Mihir Mehrotra (3-44) had some success with the ball.

But the home side reached their target from the last ball of the 55th over, with Andrew MacGregor and Alfie Taylor seeing them to victory.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Romford Recorder

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists