Borough’s best to be honoured at Havering Sports Council’s annual sports awards night

PUBLISHED: 10:00 10 February 2018

Winners face the camera at the Havering Sports Council awards evening at Upminster Golf Club (pic Gavin Ellis/TGS Photo)

Winners face the camera at the Havering Sports Council awards evening at Upminster Golf Club (pic Gavin Ellis/TGS Photo)

©TGS Photo +44 1376 553468

Upminster Golf Club will host Sports Awards Presentation Buffent Evening on Monday February 19

Havering Sports Council received a high standard of nominations for the Borough’s long-established annual sports awards.

Finalists are to be invited to a Sports Awards Presentation Buffet Evening (sponsored by McDonalds Restaurants of Romford), to be held at Upminster Golf Club, on Monday February 19, starting at 7.30pm.

This occasion, the highlight of our Borough’s sporting year, will see winners & runners-up presented with their awards by dignitaries & sponsors’ representatives.

Winners will be announced on the night by M/c John Whitby. This occasion is to be held in the presence of Her Worshipful The Mayor of Havering, Counciller Linda Van den Hende.

International javelin throwers Max Law and Liam Purton are both up for Junior Sports Competitor-of-the-Year which is sponsored by West & Coe Funeral Directors.

MDS Printers of Upminster have sponsored the Sports Competitor-of-the-Year award and Graham Newbury (International figure skater) and Geoff Webb (International rifle shooter) are up for that.

The Beadle family have sponsored the Disability Sports Competitor-of-the-Year with County standard cricketer and coach Bradley Donovan and County standard middle-distance runner Keiran O’Hara vying for the award.

Sports Volunteer-of-the-Year has been sponsored by Cllr. John Mylod and Tennis coach and umpire Elise Donn is battling with athletics throwing events coach Sam Harrison for the gong.

Coopers Coburn athletics team and gymnastics team will go head-to-head for the Senior Sports Team-of-the-Year, which is sponsored by Brentwood M & E Services.

The winner of the Primary School Team-of-the-Year will be St Edward’s athletics or water polo teams and this award is sponsored by Cllr. Melvin Wallace.

Havering Athletic Club and Havering Triathlon Club will both aim to win the Sports Club-of-the-Year award which is sponsored by DMS Fencing while The Doug Riden Lifetime Achievement Award, sponsored by McDonalds Restaurants of Romford, will be announced on the night.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Romford Recorder. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Romford Recorder