New mayor, council chief executive and cabinet named at Havering Town Hall meeting

PUBLISHED: 23:14 18 May 2016 | UPDATED: 23:14 18 May 2016

Town hall

Town hall


Tonight’s annual meeting of the council was a short exciting affair, which saw a new mayor, chief executive of the council and cabinet announced.

As expected, Tory Cllr Philippa Crowder was appointed as mayor, with Cllr Linda Van den Hende of the East Havering Residents’ Group as her deputy.

The meeting allowed councillors to thank chief executive Cheryl Coppel who is stepping down after nine years in the job.

She has been succeeded by Andrew Blake-Herbert, who had been the council’s acting chief executive for two days a week, since Mrs Coppell began working part-time.

Following this, the council appointed members to committees – including the selection of chairmen and vice-chairmen – and decided upon the “member champions” for various areas:

n Cllr Stephanie Nunn was elected as member champion for equalities and diversity

n Cllr John Crowder was elected as member champion for the armed forces

n Cllr Linda Hawthorn as member champion for historic environment

n Cllr Linda Van den Hende as member champion for the over 50s

n Cllr Viddy Persaud as member champion for the voluntary sector

n Cllr Alex Donald as member champion for young people

The cabinet was also announced during the two-hour meeting, check back tomorrow to find out who has been designated what.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Romford Recorder. Click the link in the orange box below for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years, through good times and bad, serving as your advocate and trusted source of local information. Our industry is facing testing times, which is why I’m asking for your support. Every single contribution will help us continue to produce award-winning local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Thank you.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Romford Recorder