A ruined medieval castle in Essex has seen royal residence, inspired famous art and seen an Olympic event hosted next door.
Hadleigh Castle in south Essex, only an hour's drive from Romford, was built around 1215 by Hubert de Burgh - chief minister or justiciar of King John after he was gifted the land known as the manor of Hadleigh by the monarch.
According to English Heritage, who own the site today, Hubert was a trusted follower of the king, and was the custodian of two important royal castles at Windsor and Dover.
Effectively ruler of England during young Henry III's childhood, Hubert built Hadleigh Castle - a large turreted castle as a statement of his power.
English Heritage says his career came to an end after "quarrels with the king", and he was forced to return his lands, including Hadleigh in 1239.
Hadleigh Castle was built around 1215 (Image: English Heritage)
The castle remained in the royal family but was not used as a royal residence until almost 100 years later when Edward II used it.
According to English Heritage, Edward III was the first king to see the "strategic importance of Hadleigh Castle".
The heritage body's website says: "It was ideally situated as a base for defending the Thames Estuary against French raids during the Hundred Years War.
"Edward's claim to the French throne had led to war with France.
"The need for a more systematic defence of the Thames Estuary led the king to refurbish and extend Hadleigh Castle and to build Queenborough Castle on the opposite Kent shore.
"Hadleigh became a favourite retreat for the ageing king."
Edward III spent "large sums of money" on a new gateway and high tower, lodging chambers and chapel over a ten year refurbishment.
King Edward III commissioned a ten-year refurbishment of the castle (Image: English Heritage)
"The barbican and two striking drum towers - one later used by Georgian revenue men looking out for smugglers - are part of Edward's substantial building works during the 1360s."
At the time, the castle was surrounded by parkland and possibly a garden or orchard near the entrance.
The castle was less popular as a place of residence for successors of Edward III, according to the heritage site.
The building was leased to several tenants and sold to Lord Riche in 1551 who sold it off as building materials.
During the demolition, a tiled hearth was built into the floor of the hall in order to melt down the valuable window leads.
According to Great British Life, the ruins have inspired artists, whose works show a catalogue of the site’s decline - "the most famous is John Constable’s painting of 1829, though that now hangs at Yale University in the U.S.A.".
Today the ruins of the castle look out over the Essex marshes.
The site has a more recent claim to fame as the mountain biking events of the 2012 London Olympics were held at Hadleigh Farm, in the shadow of the castle ruins.
The 5km looped course used the hillside terrain, with the ruined towers providing a backdrop that was broadcast to a global television audience.
The course remained open to the public after the Games.
Hadleigh Castle is today incorporated into an Essex walking route which Great British Life describes as "a delightful haven".
Many start their trek at the mainland side of the Two Tree Island bridge, take the footpath heading east atop the seawall before turning left at a sign for Castle Drive footpath.
Visitors can enjoy exploring the ruins as well as passing along the southern edge of Hadleigh Country Park.
Share